Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina is pleased to announce the open call for the Artists of Tomorrow Award 2016 – for Kosovo artist up to 35 year of age.

This pivotal independent award is organized in cooperation with Residency Unlimited in New York and is supported by The Trust for Mutual Understanding in New York.

The deadline to apply for the award is June 26 2016.

The results of the competition will be announced no later than July 20 2016.

The winner will be awarded with a two-month artist residency program in New York, US, at Residency Unlimited ( in the period of April/ May 2017, and a solo exhibition within the annual program of Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina for 2017.

If other obligations prevent the artist to attend the residency in New York within the provided time frame, they should consider to apply for the award in next editions.

Artists working in the field of contemporary art including painting, sculpture, prints, drawing, installations, photography, video, new media and performance art are encouraged to apply.

Artists cannot apply with works in applied arts, design, theater, dance and film.

The award is intended for artists only up to 35 years of age.

Eligible for applying at the Artists of Tomorrow Award are individual artists and artists working in groups which fulfill the criteria of the award.

The residency program can only host one individual artist per country, in a given award year.

Applicant must have been active as an artist for at least 3 years in Kosovo, have 3-5 reference projects, and have exhibited in art institutions such as galleries, art centers, museums or public spaces.

Non-citizen artists of Kosovo have to be recognized for their contribution in the developments in the art scene and their artistic career must have significant connection with Kosovo.

Emigré artists should be members of the country’s artistic community and regularly exhibit in Kosovo, at least last 3 years.


Main supporters of the Artists of Tomorrow Award 2016 are Raiffeisen Bank Kosovo and Trust for Mutual Understanding (TMU). The Artists of Tomorrow Award 2016 is aslo supported by Municipality of Prishtina, Embassy of Austria in Pristina, Kosova Foundation for Open Society, X-Print and DZG.